SOLAR DISH - 2000 TIMES STRONGER THAN A NORMAL SOLAR CELL

It seems like everyone and their uncle is working on a better way to get more energy out of photovoltaic solar cells, from using quantum dots to fiber optics. Now a Swiss company has decided on a brute-force method: hit a photovoltaic cell with the equivalent of 2,000 suns.

Airlight Energy, partnering with IBM Research, ETH Zurich, and Switzerland’s Interstate University of Applied Sciences, is developing a way to use parabolic reflectors to concentrate sunlight onto a set of solar cells, each only a half inch on a side.

It’s called a High Concentration PhotoVoltaic Thermal (HCPVT) system and so far, the test plant is capable of generating 25 kiloWatts of electricity.

The parabolic dish tracks the sun as it moves across the sky, so it always gets the maximum amount of light. As a result, the solar cell chips receive 2,000 times as much light energy as they normally would. Even though they’re small, each cell pumps out up to 250 Watts, and there are hundreds of them.

Photovoltaic panels, though, start losing their efficiency if they get too hot — to say nothing of melting. To keep the chips cool, a network of tiny tubes carries water between and around them. The water reaches temperatures of about 194 degrees, which can be used to heat water in a building or to heat salty water, which is passed through a membrane that removes the salt to make the water drinkable.

The photovoltaic plant operates at 30 percent efficiency, much higher than the less than 20 percent one might expect from a typical roof-mounted setup. And a parabolic dish of about one square yard would be able to generate about two kilowatt-hours per day and purify seven to nine gallons of salt water.

Right now there are several prototypes being built, with one being tested in Switzerland. Airlight said in a press release that they envision this kind of solar power in countries where there’s lots of sun but little fresh water.

SOLAR DISH – 2000 TIMES STRONGER THAN A NORMAL SOLAR CELL

30 thoughts on “SOLAR DISH – 2000 TIMES STRONGER THAN A NORMAL SOLAR CELL

  1. It is truly a cool and beneficial piece of information. I’m pleased that you simply just shared this valuable info with us. Please maintain us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Fantastic cargo from you, gentleman. Ive study your stuff in advance of and youre emphatically as well amazing. I have the benefit of what youve got acceptably at this point, adore what youre stating and the way you articulate it. You achieve it entertaining and you equal at this moment manage to avoid be it wise. I cant delay to get owing to supplementary from you. With the intention of is especially an incredible weblog.

    Like

  3. Normally I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

    Like

  4. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

    Like

    • It not at all tough to set up a blog using WordPress, creating new posts are as easy as composing a new mail in Gmail. You can start off by creating a wordpress account and start blogging, all the best for your blog.

      Like

  5. I was highly pleased to acquire this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this amazing read!! I surely enjoying each and every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

    Like

  6. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  7. Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Like

  8. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

    Like

  9. Thank you for another informative site. Where else may just I am getting that kind of info written in such an ideal method? I’ve a project that I’m just now running on, and I have been at the look out for such info.

    Like

  10. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this web site and give it a glance regularly.

    Like

  11. I’d been honored to receive a call from my friend immediately he found the important ideas shared in your site. Examining your blog write-up is a real wonderful experience. Thanks again for thinking about readers like me, and I want for you the best of success as being a professional in this surface area.

    Like

  12. I simply want to tell you that I am just all new to blogging and site-building and seriously savored this web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You definitely have remarkable writings. Many thanks for revealing your web-site.

    Like

Leave a comment