centaur-small

What Is Robonaut?

Two Robonaut models hold tools

515446main_Robonaut_1-xltn

Robonaut can use tools designed to be used by astronauts on the space station. Image Credit: NASA

Robonaut is a NASA robot. Engineers designed Robonaut to be humanoid, which means it is built to look like a person. This makes it easier for Robonaut to do the same jobs as a person. Robonaut could help with anything from working on the International Space Station to exploring other worlds. A Robonaut is currently aboard the International Space Station.

What Does Robonaut Do?

NASA began working on the Robonaut project in 1996 and produced the first version of the robot in 2000. Since that time, engineers have continued to improve Robonaut. The newest model is called Robonaut 2, or R2. NASA and car manufacturer General Motors worked together to create R2. Robonaut has a head, torso, arms and hands like a person. Cameras in the head provide vision. Robonaut is called a dexterous robot because its hands and fingers move like a person’s. So Robonaut can perform tasks designed to be done by human hands. For example, Robonaut can use many of the same tools as an astronaut. In addition, the robot’s torso can be attached to a “bottom” so Robonaut can move around. For example, Robonaut has been tested with a set of wheels.

How Does Robonaut Work?

Robonaut can function in two ways. Software allows Robonaut to “think” for itself. The people who control R2 can give it a simple task to do, and R2 can figure out how to do it. R2’s software can be updated to allow it to do new tasks. R2 also can be operated by remote control. An operator can use a headset to see what Robonaut sees through its cameras. The operator can then use controls to make Robonaut move.

Robonaut types on a smart phone

R2 Hello World! Tweet

Robonaut sent its first tweet on July 26, 2010, with the help of its team. Image Credit: NASA

What Will Robonaut Do on the Space Station?

R2 flew to the space station on the space shuttle Discovery on the STS-133 mission. First, R2 will stay in the Destiny laboratory. NASA sent equipment with R2 to see how well it works. That first stage of the test will make sure that R2 works as well in space as on Earth.

What Does the Future Hold for Robonaut?

NASA is not the only group benefiting from R2. NASA’s partner, General Motors, will benefit as well. GM plans to use the technology to make cars safer. GM also hopes to use lessons learned from Robonaut to make a safer work environment.

NASA is still deciding what the future holds for Robonaut. If the test inside the space station goes well, Robonaut could someday be tested outside the space station. This testing would determine how well Robonaut could work with, or instead of, spacewalking astronauts. Robonaut’s designers even have ideas for sending a robot like Robonaut to another world someday. If testing goes well, who knows where Robonaut — or a better robot based on Robonaut — could end up?

NASA’s ROBONAUT

21 thoughts on “NASA’s ROBONAUT

  1. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that
    “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance.

    I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. Also, the blog
    loads extremely fast for me on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

    Like

  2. I would like to convey my admiration for your generosity in support of men and women that have the need for help with this particular concern. Your special dedication to getting the message all over had been wonderfully productive and have all the time made professionals much like me to attain their dreams. Your own invaluable tutorial means a great deal to me and additionally to my office workers. Thank you; from everyone of us.

    Like

  3. Thanks for producing the honest attempt to discuss this. I feel extremely robust about it and want to read additional. If it is OK, as you acquire far more in depth expertise, may possibly you thoughts adding additional articles comparable to this a single with extra information? It could possibly be extraordinarily handy and handy for me and my pals.

    Like

  4. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

  5. hello!,I like your writing so much! share we communicate more about your post on AOL? I require an expert on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

    Like

  6. I have not checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    Like

  7. I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

    Like

    • Thanks for liking the webdesign, some part of it is custom designed by me, and about the issue sorry i have no clue, but once i figure it out I’ll surely get back to you.

      Like

  8. I simply want to tell you that I’m very new to blogging and site-building and actually savored this web-site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have impressive articles and reviews. Bless you for revealing your web site.

    Like

Leave a comment